I’M BACK..it has been a while

It has been quite sometime since I have posted much of anything on my personal blogs. I have been involved in many different projects which has led me to become scarce. I am hoping to change this and be able to remain connected with all of you :). So I will begin by presenting some images I took using an expired roll of film, Kodak Plus-X 125. 

img001

 I wanted to experiment with this roll from shooting all the way down to development. I have to add that I was influenced by following and reading the many interesting and inspirational posts written by Paulo Pires,(Cooking Film). If you have not checked out his blog, you should.
img002

Being still fairly new to film, I have always kept myself very strict to the development charts. Overtime as I became more confident and developed a more concrete understanding of the whole process, I felt I was ready and wanted to be more open to experimentation. This led me to searching the net in hopes of finding information on how others shoot and develop film. This is where I discovered the blog Cooking Film. From reading many of  Paulo’s posts, I discovered that although a film may have a box speed of 400 ISO, you can actually shoot the film at 800 ISO or even 1600 ISO with some very interesting results.  Pondering on that thought, I wanted to try it out for myself. So far I have discovered  that I oftenly like the looks of my images when I have shot the film at a different  box speed than what it actually is, (400 ISO to 800-1600 ISO).

  This experiment was quite interesting as the images were not all taken on the same day. I was a little worried at first because the film had been sitting in my camera for quite some time. It is amazing to see how much more thinking goes into pressing the shutter when working with film. I guess this is the reason as to why it took me a while to get to the last frame! For these images I used my Nikon F100 with a 50mm lens. I am happy with the results of the images and I am hoping to try this experiment again but this time with a film that is not expired!

 

 

Recipe:

Kodak Plux-X 125(expired film)

Developed with Ilfosol3- 29 minutes

Agitate first minute

Agitate the first 10 seconds of every minute for the next 5 minutes

Agitate every 5 minutes there after, (first 10 seconds of each minute)


img003img009

img008 img004

img010

 

This post has been inspired by Paulo Pires,(Cooking Film). Thank you Paulo for sharing your passion and knowledge.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

