An Empty Chair

The end of the year 2016 will be ending soon. I wish I could share with you a more positive post to end it. I will leave the year with my post entitled, “An Empty Chair”.

an-empty-chair-2It is exactly how this year has ended and I will be sure that this will never happen again. I have decided this will be my last attempt in trying to engage others with any type of event geared towards image creation in Montreal. I am sure that those who may have tried something like this with not much success, repeatedly, will understand where I am coming from. It is brutal. Not only is it brutal, it is so discouraging. I had high hopes for my last portrait event, ( “I Am Without Flaws Portrait Series Project”), but I should know better than to have expectations. It is much easier to deal with anything that doesn’t work out with already having a neutral state of mind.

I really thought long and hard on this one. I was inspired, I was positive and I really believed that it would have brought out the curious, the open-minded and even the doubtful. I was obviously wrong and I will never forget this experience.

 

So how does it flow? You don’t want to give too much and you don’t want to give too little, right?

For this time around, I felt that I gave a little more in regards to adding a video which has been a different approach from my other attempts. I wanted to add a little mystery, but that has proven to not work at all. This experience has made me realize that everything begins with having an open mind and if I am not reaching those minds and only ones that will criticise while making assumptions , it will be an automatic fail.

I have been trying to understand how it is to get people’s attention and interest into what I am wanting to share through collaboration in a creative medium. It seems like an impossible task or is it (?).

an-empty-chair-4 an-empty-chair-3

There are NEVER expectations or judgements, only an open heart and mind. – ONE on ONE ART by Nicole Small

 

So what are people looking for? Or not looking for? This has been plaguing my mind the last few days. Maybe people are not looking for anything at all, or maybe the thought of being part of something creative with an unknown is intimidating or simply turns people off.

“Who is this person?”                

” What can she possibly do different that I can already do with my cell phone?”

“So what, I can take pictures too!”

” A portrait…and?”

 

Why is so hard for people to see that an idea, a creative idea or event, can be an experience. An experience that they would want to be part of again. An experience that will be different from their own expectations and to do nothing more than meet, connect and create.

an-empty-chair an-empty-chair-6

To sum this post up, although it may be a little early, I want to wish you all a wonderful Christmas holiday that is full of good cheer, love, family and friends and great health. May 2017 be a year of great success and accomplishments, new ventures and discoveries, inner growth and most importantly a year full of positivity and humbleness.

Thank you all for joining and following my blog, liking and reply to my posts and for sending me positive vibes.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
4 comments

  1. Hi Nicole,
    I am truly sorry to hear that it did not work out.
    I currently am living in two places, a little island town with a population of about 750, and a state capital with two universities. My experience has been that it is much easier to get a creative group together in the tiny town then in the ‘big city.’ Beyond that I have no clue!☺

    Like

    • Hi Christian!

      Thank you for commenting on my post. You definately have a point. But I also believe the saturation now of everybody having a phone on them 24/7 has also something to do with it as well. Never know what 2017 might have in store.

      Again thank you for replying and Happy Holidays to you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

