A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 7)

A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 7)

Previous posts:

    – A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 1)

   – A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 2)

   – A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 3)

   – A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 4)

   – A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 5)

   – A Light Proof Box / Pinhole Photography (Part 6)

 

I thought it would be interesting to continue from my previous post, “A Light Proof Box/ Pinhole Photography (Part 6)”, which touched on the subject of using film and paper in pinhole photography. I went deeper on the subject and decided to do some test images which will show you the different look each have when compared to each other side by side.

 

The Light Set Up

 

 

For this light test I used my 4×5 wooden pinhole camera. The film I chose for testing was Ilford’s FP4 film. I did not have any sheet film unfortunately, so I used a roll of 120 instead and for paper I used Ilford’s pearl black and white paper which I cut to fit into 4×5 film holders. For the lighting, I used one 1000 watt continuous light.

 

Here is the first light test result:

 

 

 

As you can see, the paper has a very high contrast, but a look that I like very much. I did make slight adjustments in Photoshop. For the paper negatives I adjusted the images slightly with the levels tool but not by much. I wanted to present the images as close to as how they came out but because there was only one light used in the light set-up, I had to adjust the brightness. As for the film negatives I did make minor adjustments as well, again using the levels tool by bringing the white point and black point to the beginning of recorded information.  In all, everything remained constant except that of the time which obviously would be different due to the ISO difference of the paper, ( ISO 6) and film (ISO 125).

 

 

In part 8, I will continue to discuss paper in pinhole photography.

 

Still to follow: A Light Proof Box/Pinhole Photography (Part 8)

One comment

Leave a Reply

