“——-” Magazine – ??

On April 23rd, 2017, I received an interesting email on Instagram from a “Canadian literary and visual arts magazine” and was feeling quite honored! I have not been on Instagram for very long. I joined Instagram in December of last year so I guess you can understand the excitement I had felt. I mean I have been struggling for a very long time with trying to find the “right audience”, and Facebook, which was my main active social media platform, has come nothing close to the amount of support and appreciation that I have received on Instagram  and within such a short period of time, (six months).

 

But before I go any further, I just want to state that my ranting is not because I don’t get alot or enough “likes” received whenever I post something here or on any social media platform. For me, it is all about connecting with the right people and attracting the right people,(both as clients and collaborators), and building relationships. It makes sense, find the right place with the right flow and everything, with perseverance, will move forward.

Instagram seems to be working for me. I am connecting with people who understand and enjoy the type of work I create and I am connecting with artists that work in the same genre as me and this is what I have been searching for. Of course, the majority of them are far away from home but that’s ok, it works for me! It is just the beginning of me heading in the right direction.

 

Now heading back to my point to starting off this post, as I mentioned I was approached on Instagram and was asked by this “Canadian literary and visual arts magazine” if they would be able to feature some of my work in their magazine’s first issue. Of course I didn’t say no. So with a few back and forth emails, I was able to make the best selections which I forwarded to them on April 26th, 2017. I received a reply that all was great and even followed up with them with an email a few weeks later to make sure that everything was still good.

Well yesterday, I discovered that this “Canadian literary and visual arts magazine” posted their first issue and when I took a look at it, nothing of mine was in it. I was honestly taken back and very disappointed. They may have thought it was nothing for me to prepare for what they had asked for, but they are freakin’ wrong to think that because my work means something to me. I am not trying to come off as a weeping willow because I can understand that maybe along the way their direction of their magazine may have changed and my work may have no longer suited that new direction. I can take that and I get that…but have the courtesy of reaching out to tell me so.

 

During that moment of disappointment, I had I sent my friend a message in regards to all of this and I wanted to share with you his reply:

” In cases like this you have to realize that people do not care for anything but for what they need and once that is achieved, everything else doesn’t matter and that could mean you. You have to let go the belief that everyone will think and see you as the serious artist that you are who takes what they do, seriously. What you do matters! You don’t do what you do just for the sake of keeping your hands busy. New magazine or not, there should be a level of professionalism and respect regardless of anything and everything. They may not have cared for what you had prepared but you do! Don’t expect everyone you meet or that jumps towards your work to keep their word regardless of how professional they may seem to be.”

 

 

It’s honest and sadly, after reading it over a few times I know that there is a lot of truth to it, but I should be thankful. Thankful for all the past disappointments I have dealt with, (including this one), as I have learned to not allow myself to get too emotionally attached to opportunities such as these before they are to come to light. If I did not have that much passion for what I do, I probably would have given up a long time ago.

One comment

Leave a Reply

